ITIL's IT Service Lifecycle - The Five New Silos of IT
In my last article I spoke about IT’s evolution from its technological heritage into a Managed Services Provider utilizing the five domains of ITIL V3 as its ticket into the enterprise business leadership circle. Much has been written about breaking down the technological silos that have prevented IT from presenting a unified face to the business as a service provider aligned with business goals and objectives.
Yet, I believe IT must continue to develop silos to support new models that will help it meet its goals – I call them ‘silos of purpose,’ and they are aligned with the ITIL V3 domains.

Successful ITIL adoption depends upon cross-silo process interaction and shared responsibilities. ITIL Version 3 carves IT into five domains (Strategy, Design, Transition, Operation and Improvement) and outlines for each the people, process and product requirements to build a structure for the domain within the IT organization.

The following newsletter provides a high-level blueprint of how IT organizations can align themselves and their service delivery partners with the five domains of ITIL V3. This alignment will enable IT to create and deliver a new generation of managed IT services optimized for cost, quality and compliance with security and government mandates.

While ITIL V2 served its purpose of making IT organizations aware that IT service management could be done better, ITIL V3 provides the detail on how to make them better. By carving IT up into ‘silos of purpose’ of Strategy, Design, Transition, Operation and Improvement, ITIL V3 provides guidance on how to:

ITIL’s IT Service Lifecycle Management Model

The figure below represents the five domains of ITIL’s IT Service Lifecycle along with the people, process and products required to make each domain fulfill its ‘silo of purpose’ within the IT organization.

IT Service Strategy – Planning the IT Services

Service Strategy deals with the strategic analysis, planning, positioning, and implementation relating to IT service models, strategies, and objectives. It provides guidance on leveraging service management capabilities to effectively deliver value to customers and illustrate value for service providers.

The following people, process and products combine to make this a functional operating unit with IT:

IT Service Design –Modeling the IT Services

Service Design translates strategic plans and objectives and creates the designs and specifications for execution through service transition and operations.

IT Service Transition - Implementing the IT Services

Service Transition provides guidance on the service design and implementation, ensuring that the service delivers the intended strategy and can be operated and maintained effectively.

IT Service Operation – Managing the IT Services

Service Operation provides guidance on managing a service through its day-to-day production life. It also provides guidance on supporting operations by means of new models and architectures such as shared services, utility computing, web services, and mobile commerce.

IT Continual Service Improvement – Measuring the IT Services

Continual Service Improvement provides guidance on measuring service performance through the service life-cycle, suggesting improvements in service quality, operational efficiency and business continuity.


Utilize the five domains of IT as ‘silos of purpose’ that speed the journey toward IT operational excellence by building three capabilities into the Business/IT alignment model:

Related programs

Related articles